Home Artists Releases About

Broken Chains of Segregation

Active: 1993-1995
Mike Adams - Vocals
Matt Plunkett - Guitar
Brian Wrenn - Bass
Mark Whitehead - Drums

Formed on the Southside of Richmond, VA in the spring of 1993, Broken Chains of Segregation helped reinvent the Richmond hardcore scene of the mid-1990s. Inspired by the New York hardcore bands of the late 80s as well as early 90s post-hardcore acts like Quicksand and Fugazi, B.C.S. took their name from Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech, and with the help of their energetic live shows and deep-rooted belief in youth freedom, they built a loyal following during their short stint together. Fueled by punk’s DIY ethos, they used all the proceeds from their shows to record 2 EPs, but they released only one of those in the spring of 1994. B.C.S. broke up the following year as the founding members went their separate ways.


Full Lengths



No items available



Latest News

St Edwards Reunion Show

A night to honor a venue and a time that played a big part in many people’s lives.

Q+A with Broken Chains of Segregation’s Michael Adams

An interview with the band’s frontman about music and his current work as an author.

Broken Chains of Segregation: Now on OVOLR!

Two EPs re-issued on OVOLR!

OVOLR! Records / AXMX Records / Debackle Press
Richmond, Virginia USA
© 1997-2019 OVOLR! Records